Over A Month……………………..

It has been over a month since my last post. I apologize to all my readers (all 5 of them) ha ha that I have been MIA. So much has happened to me in the last month. First things first, around the first of June I started to have trouble with blood in my urine. I told my doctor. He tested it and didn’t find anything amiss. He sent me to a urologist. The urologist did a throuough exam (including sticking a monitor up my urethra “pee hole”) and found nothing. The bleeding eventulally got better. I was relieved because to see that is very scary. THEN, the blood came back. It was worse than it ever was. They tested my urine again and found it was almost all blood. There was very little urine in my urine. Can you imagine that? I’m PRETTY that isn’t supposed to happen. Blood coming out instead of the normal stuff is scary. I was sooooo scared. Truth be told, I thought it was cancer. Bladder cancer to be exact. I figured “well, I’ve fought longer than most people could ever ask for.” If it’s my time then I’m okay with that. The doctor tested my “sample” again and again, nothing out of the ordinary. I went to see my urologist again and he finally found something. My right kidney was bleeding. That is what was causing all the fuss. When the doctor told me that I was grinning from ear to ear. I’m sure I looked like a complete freak. You tell your patient that her kidney is bleeding and she is smiling from ear to ear. I was happy though. I explained to him that I had been dealing with this for over 2 wks. To finally have an explanation is a blessing. The reason my kidney was bleeding is because I was taking a speciific medication to prevent blood clots. It worked but my body was completely out of whack. I went off that medicine right away and everything cleared up. It was that simple. I MAY have to have surgery to put in a device that catches blood clots so they don’t go to my heart or God forbid my brain, but we’ll see. I’m doiing so well I may not need it. Plus, I have this special bracelet from a business my mother is involved in called Amega that helps with circulation. I’ve worn the bracelet ever since I got sick and I think it really works. My dad gave me his. Well, I was feeling pretty good and his diabetes was acting up and I gave it back to him. Wouldn’t you know less than a week after I gave it back a blood clot formed in my right let?!?!?!? I immediately got another one and I haven’t had any more problems. In exactly 7 days will be the 1 year anniversary of when I got the news that my cancer was back. That day changed my whole life. July 13th my doctor called me on his vacation to tell me my cancer had returned in my lungs. I was actually in the car on my way to another doctor’s office. A little background: I was diagnosed with breast cancer in Dec 2005. After a right mastectomy in Jan 2006 and chemotherapy I was declared cancer free/in remission. The cancer came back in Dec 07 in my liver. I went through more chemotherapy but it wasn’t shrinking the tumor. My mother transfered me from that doctor to a doctor @ Texas Oncology West Plano . Her name is Dr. Nadita Rao. She saw that chemotherapy wasn’t working so she sent me to a doctor @ Downtown Baylor. His name is John O’Conner. He’s a radiologist. I did several rounds of radiation and was again declared cancer free. July 13th changed my life because not only did I find out the cancer had returned and was now in my lungs, I was told by Doctor O’Conner the cancer had also returned in my liver. I was stunned. It was a double whammy. I was for sure positive I was going to die. The cancer had now spread to multiple organs. People just don’t come back from that. I am blessed that I have the support of my family, friends and my now husband (he was my boyfriend at the time). They encourgaed me to keep up the fight and never get up. Without all these amazing people in my life I would not be here today. I would have given up my fight and let the cancer consume me until I expired. Seriously. It is very hard to keep fighting. Especially when it takes such an emotional and physical toll on your mind and body. I keep fighting for them. For my nieces who are my heart and soul. For my parents so they never experience the feeling of losing a child. Most of all I fight for my husband. We haven’t even been married a year. He always says “I don’t want to experience life without you.” With God’s help and modern medicine he won’t have to! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Over A Month……………………..

  1. Crystal, your amazing strength and perserverance is truly amazing! Your testimony serves as a blessing and reminder to us all on how wonderful God’s love is to all that trust Him. Thank you for sharing! You have a wonderful life ahead of you! ♥

    • Thank you so much Kim!!! I appreciate the kind words and you taking the time out to read my blog!!! 🙂 Make sure you follow me so I can keep you updated with all of my shenanigans. Lol!

Leave a Reply

