I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post……………

So……………….it’s been over a month since my last post. I just finished round 5 of my treatments. Last week I had a bit of a setback. I was all ready to do my 5th round of chemotherapy when I hit a snag. Before each treatment they do blood work to make sure my body can handle the medicine. So I was waiting on my test results and treatment when I was informed my liver enzymes were 5x what they were the week before. My doctor was concerned so he decided to hold off on chemo for a week. Well, if you know me you know I am dramatic. Lol! I was devastated because I am ready for this to be over and done with. I had already had to skip a week of chemo due to my own mistake. I get a shot called Nulasta. I get it every 4th week (I go three weeks on one week off). Well I am supposed to get it the Monday after my 3rd treatment and I forgot. I instead got it on Tuesday and it threw me off my treatments for an entire week. So, instead of 1 week off I got 2 weeks off. I was NOT happy about that. Then this whole liver thing. I’m just ready to get it OVER AND DONE WITH!!! All these setbacks have honestly sucked! I’m trying to stay positive and have a good attitude but it’s definitely testing my faith and my patience. I cried when I couldn’t do chemo last week. It seemed like I was taking two steps forward and one step back. I just didn’t understand why this was happening to me. I’m sure you’re probably thinking “it’s only one week. What’s the big deal?” Well, when you are counting down the weeks until you are finished with treatment and your life can return to normal, any setback can be disheartening. Anyway, I went in this past Friday. My lab results looked great. My liver enzymes had gone back to normal and I was ready to resume treatments. My doctor figured the chemo was making my liver work harder because it gets rid of excess waste in your body. The week off helped my liver return to normal function. We all breathed a HUGE sigh of relief and treatment went off without a hitch. I am now going on week 6. That means after this upcoming Friday I will only have 6 weeks left. This is good. I’m almost over the hill and on the declining slope. The days following chemo I usually sit at home and relax. My brother Vaughn had a birthday party for my nephew (who turned 1 April 3rd) at Dave and Busters on Saturday. I went. It was a lot of fun and it was nice to meet Sean’s mom. I didn’t get a chance to stay long due to my husband being sick. It started on Friday and has continued during the weekend. He’s been a big baby. Lol! If you are my facebook friend I’ve discussed the issue further. He seems to be on the up and up and feeling better. I’ve been making sure he is drugged up and taking medicine regularly. He has to get better. We both can’t be sick. The horror! Ha ha! These past few weeks have been a struggle but with my wonderful husband, family and friends by my side it’s made it bearable. They continue to encourage and uplift me. My uncle and aunt came into town like two weeks ago from Minnesota. It was GREAT to see them. My aunt came into town just to see me. She’s so sweet and honestly the best. My other aunt and uncle and their daughter came over and we had so much fun talking and catching up. They hadn’t met my husband (my aunt and uncle from Minn) so it was nice of them to meet him. He’s WONDERFUL at first impressions. That’s why I don’t mind taking him places! 😉 My brother, Sean’s mom, Sean and my mom are getting ready to come over. They are getting ready to head back to Lubbock where they live. I will miss them but it’s exciting when they come to visit. I’m trying to think what else has happened in the month+ since my last post. I guess that’s it. I am so glad WordPress saves my work automatically because I accidentally pushed the wrong button and thought I had lost everything. I didn’t. My work was securely tucked away in a draft folder. Yay! I thought “I poured my heart out on my blog and now I’ve lost everything!” I didn’t!!! 🙂 Anyway, I better get ready for their visit. My house is a MESS but oh well. I just had chemo. Hopefully they’ll understand. I also need to check on the patient. I hope he hasn’t slipped into a coma or passed out. He can’t do ANYTHING without me. The life of a wife!

Leave a Reply

